A NSW Government website

Emergency

Aboriginal Health Unit

Hunter New England Local Health District have a dedicated workforce aimed to increase the health and wellbeing of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people across our District to ensure that Aboriginal health is everyone's business. HNE Health workforce encompasses Aboriginal Health Workers, clinical and program staff and management. Some of these staff are based within the Aboriginal Health Unit.

The Aboriginal Health Unit is committed to improving the health and well-being of Aboriginal people by ensuring that:

  • Appropriate community engagement takes place
  • The incidence of the issue raised, is significant in the population
  • The issue is important to Aboriginal people
  • There is potential for positive impact for intervention
  • An opportunity to build capacity is provided

The Aboriginal Health Unit works with all Health Services, Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Services, Primary Health Networks and other key stakeholders from local, state and federal organisations.

Contact Us

Area Director Aboriginal Health

Tony Martin                     Wallsend Health Campus, Ground Floor Booth Building
Longworth Avenue, Wallsend 2287
Phone: (02) 4924 6376
Fax: (02) 4924 6456
Email:  Tony.Martin@health.nsw.gov.au

Administrative Assistant

Cheryl McGregor            Wallsend Health Campus, Ground Floor Booth Building
Longworth Avenue, Wallsend 2287
Phone: (02) 4924 6070
Fax: (02) 4924 6456
Email:  Cheryl.Mcgregor@health.nsw.gov.au

Aboriginal Chronic Care

Sharyn Tyter
Senior Program Manager
4 Bean Street,
Wallsend NSW 2287                                                           
Phone: (02) 4924 6645
Email: Sharyn.Tyter@health.nsw.gov.au
Rose Wadwell
Practice Development Officer,
Aboriginal Chronic Care
Regional Office
7 Bligh Street Tamworth
Phone: (02) 6763 7432 Email: rose.wadwell@health.nsw.gov.au

Aboriginal Health Performance Improvement Program

Aimee Smith
Program Manager
Wallsend Health Campus, Ground Floor Booth Building
Longworth Avenue Wallsend NSW 2287
Phone: (02) 4924 6329
Email:  Aimee.Smith@health.nsw.gov.au
Stacey Simpson
Project Officer,
Singleton HospitalPhone: (02) 6571 9363
Email: Stacey.simpson@health.nsw.gov.au

Hunter Valley, Lower Hunter & Lower Mid North Coast Sectors (Maitland, Cessnock, Muswellbrook, Singleton, Taree, Forster and surrounds)

Susan Mulyk
Manager Aboriginal Health
PO Box 154 Cessnock  2325Phone:  (02) 4991 0354
Fax:      (02) 4991 0557
Email:     Susan.Mulyk@health.nsw.gov.au
Michelle Wilkes
Aboriginal Health Worker
Taree Community Health CentrePhone: (02) 6592 9313
Email: michelle.wilkes@health.nsw.gov.au
Elliott (Ness) Stewart
Senior Aboriginal Health Worker
Forster Community Health CentrePhone: (02) 6539 6355
Email: Elliott.stewart@health.nsw.gov.au

Tablelands and Peel East Sectors (Tamworth, Armidale, Inverell, Glen Innes and surrounds)

Lynette Lackay
Manager Aboriginal Health
Swanbrook Road Inverell 2360Phone:  (02) 672 19634
Fax:      (02) 672 1958
Email:    Lynette.Lackay@health.nsw.gov.au
Janice Cutmore
Aboriginal Health Worker
Inverell Community CentrePhone: (02) 672 19635
Email: Janice.cutmore@health.nsw.gov.au
Mandy Cutmore
Aboriginal Health Worker
Armidale Community Health CentrePhone: (02) 677 69600
Email: mandy.cutmore@health.nsw.gov.au
Vickie Brandy, Aboriginal Health WorkerTamworth Community Health CentrePhone: (02) 676 77575
Email: Vickie.brandy@health.nsw.gov.au
Julia Morgillo, Aboriginal Health WorkerGlen Innes Community Health CentrePhone: (02) 673 90147
Email: Julia.morgillo@health.nsw.gov.au

Mehi and Peel West Sectors (Moree, Narrabri, Toomelah, Boggabilla, Gunnedah, Quirindi and surrounds)

Candice Dahlstrom
Manager Aboriginal Health
PO Box 138 Moree 2400Phone: (02) 6757 0307
Fax:     (02) 6751 1607
Email:  Candice.Dahlstrom@health.nsw.gov.au
Nicol Connor
Aboriginal Health Worker
Quirindi Community Health CentrePhone: (02) 6746 0248
Email: nicol.connor@health.nsw.gov.au
Alwyn Duke
Aboriginal Health Worker
Chronic Disease
Frome Street, MoreePhone: (02) 6757 0303
Email: Alwyn.duke@health.nsw.gov.au
Paul Duncan
Aboriginal Health Worker
Frome Street MoreePhone: (02) 6757 0304
Email: paul.duncan@health.nsw.gov.au
Lisa Tighe
Aboriginal Health Worker
Frome Street MoreePhone: (02) 6757 0302
Email: lisa.tighe@health.nsw.gov.au
Louise Morris
Aboriginal Health Practitioner
Narrabri Community Health CentrePhone: 0429 100 801
Email: louise.morris@health.nsw.gov.au
Angela Knox
Aboriginal Health Worker
Narrabri Community Health CentrePhone: 0436 005 365
Email: angela.knox@health.nsw.gov.au
June McCauley
Aboriginal Health Worker
Gunnedah Community Health CentrePhone: (02) 6741 8111
Email: june.hurley@health.nsw.gov.au
Gordon ‘Carl’ McGrady,
Community Development Facilitator
Toomelah/Boggabilla
Toomelah Community Health CentrePhone: (07) 4671 9705
Email: gordon.mcgrady@health.nsw.gov.au
Johanne Wilson, Clinical Nurse SpecialistToomelah Community HealthPhone: (07) 4671 9701
Email: Johanne.wilson@health.nsw.gov.au

Greater Newcastle Sector, (Newcastle, Port Stephens, Lake Macquarie and surrounds)

Leonie GarveyWallsend Health Campus, Walker Building
Longworth Avenue Wallsend 2287
Phone:  (02) 492 46414
Fax:      (02) 492 46324
Email:    Leonie.Garvey@health.nsw.gov.au
Christa Smith
Aboriginal Health Worker
covering Lake MacquariePhone: 4924 6607
Email: ChristaLeeMay.Smith@health.nsw.gov.au
Thomas Croft
Aboriginal Health Worker
covering Greater Newcastle
Phone: 4924 6072
Lilli Holmes
Aboriginal Health Worker
covering Port StephensPhone: 4924 6073